what I learnt from an hour with Kanye West…

Last night I did something I never thought I would do… I sat for a whole hour and listened to Kanye West…rant.

Now before I go any further let me state point blank that I, Stephanie Claire, am not a fan of the man himself. For a start I will never be able to forgive him for what he did to my girl Taylor but I do think we can sort of learn from him.

Sort of. I think.

I say I think because the whole hour passed by in a ranting blurb where for a lot of it I was completely zoned out. I couldn’t tell you what he was angry about or passionate about or worked up about (other than Versace, Versace, Versace), but my ears (it was a radio interview) were completely hypnotised.

I can’t decide if the man is a genius or just completely crazy. Or both.

Here is the thing. Many of the things he says are ludicrous but he truly believes every single word that comes out of his own mouth. and most of those words are about himself.

Now, not many of us can say that can we?

I’ve blogged a couple of times about having conviction when talking about yourself and the difficulties that come with self confidence (particuarly from a theatre makers point of view), but it is an important issue. One that I have always struggled with. A fact that some people who know me. inside out, find surprising.

Including my mum.

Last weekend at a family wedding, my mum caught me checking my reflection AGAIN before we left the house. Now there is a running joke in my family about how I am a vain squirrel (taken from a story I loved as a kid). o obviously my mums go to response to my reflection checking was ‘Come on vain squirrel’ to which I replied ‘I’m not vain just self conscious.’

It wasn’t snappish, just matter of fact. My mum thought this was surprising, she said she wouldn’t really describe me as self conscious, it made me uncomfortable, at the time I was trying not to be upset by quite how tight my dress felt, so I just brushed it off and said every one is, aren’t they?

And I don’t think I know a single person that could say they weren’t.

Accept Kanye West. Everything he says about himself, about how he is a God, about how important he is to music, about how he has reached a level Michael Jackson didn’t. He believes it. And to some extent he then goes and meets those statements, or at least gives the appearance that he does.

Again just to reiterate. Not a fan, and some of the things he says, BAT SHIT CRAZY. Sorry for swearing, but honestly. BAT SHIT CRAZY.

But wouldn’t it be nice if we split his ego up, into thousands and thousands of pieces and gave every one a little? Think of the things we would set off to achieve, think of the people we would stand up to, think about how happy we could be. And lets face it? Kanyes Ego? There is probably enough to go around.

So that is what Kanye West has taught me, that if you find something you TRULY believe in, in can take you a very long way. especially if that thing is yourself.

What do you think? Leave a comment!

ps. the interview I listened to is being uploaded to the Radio 1’s youtube channel in 4 bite size chunks, honestly? You’ll probably only need to watch one to get the gist of it! Here’s the first part, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

