not quite stroganoff, not quite a risotto…

wpid-img_20140715_063711.jpg

Since moving one of my favourite things has been having my own kitchen! I would even go so far as to say cooking has become a hobby of mine. In no way shape or form am I an expert, but I am I would say, above average.

Most of the time I throw something together and hope for the best. Sometimes it goes wrong (don’t ask about the giant jaffer cake I attempted) and other times it goes really, really right. This was one of those times.

Not quite a stroganoff not quite a risotto, this was so easy and so tasty I thought I had better share it with you! I have also recently gone veggie, so I am really enjoying getting a bit more creative. Ok here we go…

Ingreedients – makes enough for 1 person with some left over for lunch, but if you want more just double, or triple etc.

  • 75 grams of rice
  • 4 large button mushrooms
  • 3 spring onions
  • 4 runner beans
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 vegetable stock cube
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of low fat creme fraiche

Method

  1. Cook your rice as instructed. Mine took about 15 minutes, I put the rice on first and while that was cooking prepped up everything else!
  2. Cut up your mushrooms (I sliced some and left some others as big chunks) and finely slice your spring onions. In a fairly big fryng pan, fry these up with a little olive oil and salt to taste until your mushrooms are golden brown (like the one in the picture!)
  3. In the mean time dice up your garlic and in a small cup (I used a tea cup) mix your stock with boiling water.
  4. Add the runner beans (chopped however you like) to your rice (I like mine crunchy so only did this for the last two minutes of the rice cooking!)
  5. Once cooked drain and wash your rice
  6. Add the garlic to the frying pan and fry off for 30 seconds.
  7. Pour your stock into the frying pan and mix in your drained rice and runner beans
  8. I let this start to simmer slightly and then added in my two tablespoons of crème fraiche. You don’t want it to get too hot though in case it starts to curdle!
  9. Once everything has mixed together and the sauce has gone creamy you’re ready to serve! You can add more water or crème fraiche depending on how you like the consistency, and salt and pepper to taste!

wpid-img_20140715_063503.jpg

I love that you could basically make this with any veg you like or can afford! Next time I have guests around I might make this with asparagus instead of the beans and a whole variety of mushrooms! Who knows, maybe even a touch of parmesan on top if I am feeling really flush!

Let me know if you try this? What would you add? x

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “not quite stroganoff, not quite a risotto…

  1. Pingback: life simply #3… | tea in your twenties

Leave a Reply

