the bloggers food diary: do you love yourself?

DSCF1898_zps5e826b31

I am so happy today, to be able to bring you the first guest post not only for The Bloggers Food Diary, but also ever on Tea in Your Twenties, from the lovely, and beautiful (seriously, look at that hair, so jealous it hurts) Holly from A Branch of Holly.

Today’s post is all about how important it is to make healthy changes for yourself, a statement I truly believe in. It is only now in my twenties, that I have finally realised, my body has to make me happy first and foremost. Don’t forget The Bloggers Food Diary is open for anyone to submit to, so if you are passionate about health and food, and think it is important as we do, that body confidence is spoken openly about then get in touch by dropping me an email at stephanieclaire@teacuptheatre.com

But enough from me, here is Holly’s story…

Let me ask you a question. I want you to be honest.

When you look in the mirror do you like what you see? How many times do you look at yourself and think ‘I’m happy with my body’ or ‘I’m happy with myself’?

Okay so that was more than one question but the point still stands strong – for some reason or another, a lot of women aren’t fully satisfied or 100% happy with their bodies.

It’s easy to see why though, isn’t it? Every day on social media we’re presented with these images – images that are meant to be inspiring, motivating and aspirational. Some of them are it’s true, but a lot of women find themselves feeling jealous, defeated and negative.

Let’s put it this way. Here’s a list of what I’ve seen on social media today:

  • An article from Cosmopolitan on Facebook featuring photos of half-naked, gorgeous, wavy haired women.
  • A photo of a celebrity on Twitter showcasing her perfect, tanned bikini body.
  • A number of photos on Instagram of celebrities working out and showing off their very toned figures.
  • And a number of images on Pinterest of girls posing half-naked with a large majority of their very slim bodies on show.

You know what I mean don’t you? These constant messages we’re shown all day every day, basically showing us the definition of what ‘attractive’ is thought to be. It’s not fair. It’s not healthy. It’s wrong.

I’ll tell you a short story now. A few years ago I was very unhappy with my body. Hardly any of my clothes were fitting me properly, it was holding me back because I had no confidence and I didn’t feel like myself.

I plodded along in this way for a while because I was young, naïve and in a bubble. But then the bubble popped and one day I decided to really do something about it. The rest, as they say, is history. In my story, I found the 30 day shred and I’ve been doing it ever since.The best bit? It’s worked.

I wish I could tell you when the moment comes where you decide to go one step further to taking care of your body but I think you have to reach that moment on your own or you’ll only be making changes for the wrong reasons. What’s important here is that I did not, I repeat, did not go the extra mile in order to lose weight. I wanted to tone up and feel better in myself.

Fast forward a year and here are the results so far. My arms are toned, my legs are toned and I actually have abs. I’m fitter, I feel healthier. I’ve found myself. And I’m determined to keep going.

A healthy way of living is now a part of what makes up my life. But it’s taken time, a lot of patience and a lot of motivation. Luckily, I’ve picked up a lot of tips along the way, tips that have kept me going and I’d like to share some with you now.

Stop comparing yourself to others. This is the devil and it’s worthless. Everyone is built differently and our goals will always be different. What works for you won’t work for anyone else. You are unique.

Celebrating the small victories is so important. If you want to cut chocolate out of your diet and you manage to not touch it in a week, celebrate it! Everything positive you do to feel happy in yourself is a victory.

Focus on your best bits. Don’t particularly like your thighs? Show off your shoulders. Not such a fan of your arms? Get your legs out. Always focus on the positive. Pick out the aspects of yourself you really love and use them. Feeling confident is the first step to being confident.

The most important factor of all – do it for you. You are not doing this for anyone else. This is about you, your mind and your body. Ask people for help, of course, but you need to do this for you. You are going to see the changes, you are going to get the results and it’s going to put the biggest smile on your face.

So however fitness fits into your life this is just a little reminder that you are you. You are great, you are special. You do good things every day, you make people smile, you give people love. You don’t need to have the “perfect body” to make that kind of a mark in the world.

I’m still not 100% happy with my body and I don’t think I ever will be. But my parents tell me I’m beautiful, my boyfriend loves me and appreciates me, and I’m confident and happy in myself.

So let me ask you again. When you look in the mirror do you like what you see?

I want to know. Tell me. Pick out one thing you really love about yourself and let me know. Let’s share the good, share the things we love and share ourselves with the world. Holly x

ps. I really like my shoulders and my lips but my family and boyfriend are always telling me my bum is my best feature, Holly x

pps. For me, the part of my body I actually like, is my waist, it is tiny, even when I feel big, I know that my waist gives me my figure, whenever I feel like a bit of a frump, instead of whacking on something big and baggy to hide in, I grab a waist belt, even if it needs to be one hole looser than usual! Live life & make yourself happy, Stephie x

ppps. Here is a dvd on the 30 day shred

4 thoughts on “the bloggers food diary: do you love yourself?

  1. Great first post for the bloggers food diary. It is a great collection of tips and personal experience, very relatable 🙂
    xo Lou

    ps. I really like my wrists, ankles and breasts, so yeah.. funny when you start to think about what you really like about yourself 😀 🙂

    http://vegantarianlifestyle.com

  2. Pingback: branching out… | tea in your twenties

Leave a Reply

