life simply… January

image

Here we have it, January 2015 is drawing to a close. How are those new years feelings and resolutions holding up? I won’t go into mine too deeply here, but all in all I feel like January has been a very good start to the year. As well as the bigger things I’ve been working on this month there have been oh so many little things that have made life, simply, a little wonderful recently…

Dance, dance we’re falling apart…

That lovely readers, is a lyric from Fall Out Boy, which I believe tells you a lot about my teenage years. However, my tastes have somewhat matured since then, and now I love, erm, Taylor Swift. This month I decided that my word for 2015 was ‘more’ and one thing I desperately needed to do more of, was dance. Around the flat, in the shower, and occasionally on the walk to work.

Just one more bite…

It will come as no surprise to any of you, that food appears on this list. Doesn’t it always? However, this month it has been about quality as well, as quantity. And it has also been about playing with food, experimenting, planning. Enjoying food not just for the taste of it, but for putting it all together and all the wonderful things it can do for you.

Good in bed…

Maybe this is an over share, but I’ve been snuggling up in bed recently, with several blankets and a charming man named Harold Fry. He is in his 60s, portly, and entirely fictional. He is also the best company I’ve had in bed for a long time. Sometimes all you need is a really good b**k.

Just five more minutes…

And after my late nights with Mr Fry, there have been several later than they should have been mornings. But seen as how I’ve removed the word ‘guilt’ from my vocabulary this month, I can’t help but indulge in hitting that snooze button just once more. Sometimes what I need to feel my best is to spend a little extra time getting ready on a morning othertimes, what I need is to spend a little extra time putting off getting up at all.

On the northern (rail) line…

I’ve spent a lot of time hopping back and forth to Manchester this month, and have seen some of my favourite people in the world whilst I was there. There was a brisk and chilly riverside walk, a catch up that was over a year in the making, belated birthday celebrations and first time blogger meetings. A train ticket is a small price to pay for such things!

Mr Selfridge…

I’m obsessed. I very quickly get bored of Netflix series. I know, blasphemy. I’ve not finished Breaking Bad or Homeland and I haven’t even clicked on Sons of Anarchy or House of Cards. But Harry Selfridge has well and truly got me. Partly because of the glamour, and the drama, mainly because of the handsome men.

This list could go on and on this month. January has been full of so many little things, that have helped the world seem right again. Lovely emails, cups of fruity tea, journalling at least every other day. All of these things have brought my mojo back. And while this week, has felt like a long one, and I’m glad to be welcoming in a new month, January, despite your chilly demeanour and the off putting blue hue you tend to dress yourself up in, it has been a pleasure.

Live life & enjoy the simple things x

15 thoughts on “life simply… January

  1. They have a dance class at my gym that I started going along to, unfortunately hardly anyone attends, and there is a gallery right above where the treadmills are so long story short, yesterday everyone on the treadmill were in the perfect spot to see me and some other poor girl perform the whole “Can’t Touch This” routine over lunch-time. We certainly “broke it down…” haha.. but it was fun

    • Ahhhhh! Good on you for sticking with it though! I was meant to be part of a flash mob last weekend but there were so few people I felt so exposed! And it certainly isn’t like me to get stage freight!

      The Zumba class that I used to go to in Manchester is now the official zumba group for the ‘This Girl Can’ campaign and is on all the adverts! God I miss it xx

      • I really miss Zumba too – they had such a good instructor at my previous gym, and I loved going. I;ve tried other places, but it just totally depends on the instructors whether I like it or not…

  2. ah I really enjoyed this post – it’s nice to read about someone else who has been enjoying January, instead of the usual down-in-the-dumps posts! I hope you have just as lovely a February! 🙂

    • Thanks Natasha, all in all I really embraced January as being a new start, now I’m looking forward to making the most of every month this year! Let’s hope we can infect a few others with our cheer! xx

  3. Have you listened to Fall Out Boys new album? I loved them when I was a teenager too, but, I have to admit, they’re new album is pretty great!! I’ve never seen Mr Selfridge, but I really want to start watching Scandal! I hear it’s amazing!!

    Chrissy x
    http://www.chrissylilly.com

  4. This post made me laugh out loud at my desk – thankfully i’m working from home! I’m not gonna lie, the other day the Frozen soundtrack was blasting through my headphones at work and all I wanted to do was get up and sing at the top of my lungs! There’s something about having a silly dance that really makes me feel happy 🙂

    I might do it right now actually!

    Have a lovely weekend 🙂

    Holly | http://abranchofholly.blogspot.co.uk/

    • I quite often listen to let it go as I am walking up the hill to work. I like to think purposefully with hair blowing majestically in the wind behind me. That is how all days should start!

      Hope you have a lovely weekend too, I was going to email to see if you wanted coffee on your lunch break on Monday xx

  5. Pingback: morning February… | tea in your twenties

Leave a Reply

