morning monday… the importance of rest…

wpid-img_20150222_024611.jpg

Good morning everyone, how are you? These Monday’s just keep rolling around so fast don’t they? Or is that just me? I don’t mean to bang on about it, but I am working an awful lot at the moment, so much so that I haven’t had more than one day off in a row for six weeks now, and it is really beginning to take it’s toll.

I’ve had a cold for two weeks now, which might not sound like a lot, but we’re not just talking the sniffles here, we are talking no voice, coughing so much it hurts, threatening to be the flu type of beast. And I am well and truly fed up of it now. I’m sure if I could just take two or three days off then I could kick it to the curb, but unfortunately, that isn’t really an option for me at the moment.

I WANT to be all go go go and positive vibes, and yay you can do it, but actually today I think it is important that I remember just how important it is to rest when you need it. Yes it is getting in the way of my February goals, and yes it is frustrating that I don’t seem to do anything but work and sleep at the moment, but if that is what my body, and my mind need, then so be it.

Yesterday, I didn’t do anything but eat in my pyjammas, and at 3 o clock, I had this moment of panick, that I wasn’t going to get anything done that day (despite having already typed up three blog posts) and then I realised… It’s Sunday, it is ok not to get anything done.

I love my job, and the life I have built for myself, but I think recently in a surge of good energy I have wanted to fill every moment, and that has been amazing, but if you don’t get the balance right, you’re going to burn out. Working hard is important to me, eating well is important to me, seeing the people I love is important to me, but taking some time out when I need to hasn’t been on that list of priorities, maybe ever, and so I think I need to remember, the importance of rest.

So yes, it is Monday, and yes, I am back at work, but rest doesn’t have to end with the weekend. Rest can be taking 5 minutes at lunch time away from your computer screen, it can be ten minutes meditation before bed, it can be switching off all devices, all emails, social media updates, and worries about scheduling that next post, and actually just taking an hour to do the washing up, change your bedding. I don’t just need physical but mental rest.

Mindfulness is just as good a habit as starting my day with a hot water and lemon, so it’s time to add it to my list, without, of course, feeling the pressure of the list! I hope you find a way to build a moment of calm into the Monday where ever you and whatever you are doing.

Live life & take a moment for yourself x

Follow me on Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

3 thoughts on “morning monday… the importance of rest…

Leave a Reply

