morning Monday…

image

Good morning my lovelies. How the devil are you?

This week I’m going to spend a little time “catching” myself. I’ve noticed some bad thoughts and negativity slipping back in recently and while I am only human, and everyone is allowed a whinge, wallow and a snack too many every now and then, I know for myself, that these things can rapidly escalate from being something that happens when you’re having “one of those days” to something that is ingrained in my every day.

I have a couple of days off at the end of the week, and my evenings are looking pretty free too, so I’m going back to basics. In my journal I have a list of small things that make a big difference. Things like tidying the flat when I get in from work, spending an hour reading, cooking something new. These things aren’t difficult to do, there the type of things that when we do them seem SO OBVIOUS. Doing this makes me feel better, but they are also the type of thing that very quickly get forgotten about when we are busy or stressed.

Sometimes we have to make sacrifices. Sometimes we need to come home from work, chuck everything on the floor have nothing but toast for dinner and spend the rest of the night watching Netflix. Sometimes theses things do us the world of good. But sometimes these things rapidly become routine and instead of keeping us relaxed and refreshed instead they make us feel stale, and miserable, like “this is all I do.” I haven’t quite reached that point yet, but one more week and I could definitely be there.

So this week I am going to catch myself. Before slumping on the sofa, before buying a family sized bar of dark chocolate from the shop, before opening my mouth and letting something negative come out, I’m simply going to ask “will this make me feel better?”

Hope you are feeling bright and perky this Monday morning, and remember, while it is ok not to be 100% all of the time, you can also change the course of any day or any mood for the better.

Live life & check yourself x

6 thoughts on “morning Monday…

  1. This post could not have come at a better time for me. I had a really lethargic, down in the dumps kind of week last week and guess what? Wallowing didn’t make me feel any better. I’m committing to making positive changes this week!

    • Sometimes, you have to sort of give in, and indulge in a wallow, but when the wallowing itself becomes a problem then you have to give yourself some tough love! Go make yourself a smoothie, have a little dance and write an action plan, you’ll be feeling better in no time! xx

  2. I felt like I really needed this right now. I’ve had a few rubbish days, and honestly I think a lot of it is down to me just not trying. It’s almost as if I’m indulging in feeling miserable. So I’m going to take your brilliant advice and try to catch myself, as you put it. I hope you’ll have a good week!

    xx Mimmi, Muted Mornings

  3. I think I’m going to start asking myself that question as well! Lord knows I’m in the habit of coming home from university and watching an episode (or ten) when i could be doing something that will make me a lot happier! Absolutely brilliant post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

