morning april…

wpid-img_20150403_150841.jpg

Good morning everyone, did you have a lovely weekend? I headed home for the weekend, and it was glorious! 4 days off though, I don’t know I can’t help feel it is too short to feel like a real holiday but too long to just be a quick break. Does that make sense? Ha! How ungrateful am I?

Greedy longings aside, it is now April, and I guess that means I should set myself some monthly goals, and reviews March’s while I’m at it, right?

Well, erm, here’s the thing… I was loving having monthly goals, until, erm, I didn’t. I don’t lie to you guys, I don’t even fib, so I hope you can appreciate how honest I’m being when I tell you, I intended to write my monthly goals post last Monday, but I felt so guilty about how terribly I had done with March’s goals, I thought I would give myself another week. Well guess what? One week later and I still haven’t done any better. Here is just how terribly I did:

  1. Get juicing my greens… I had a green juice once this month, when I was hungover, on a rail replacement bus service, and it was possibly the worst decision I have ever made.
  2. Sew something… I bought some material and cut out a pattern on it, and then I put netflix on… for 3 weeks.
  3. Put my best foot forward (start exercising)… YES I TOTALLY DID THIS. But it was a hangover goal from February so I’m sorry but that confetti cannon is going to have to go back in the cupboard for now.

That’s pretty bad right? But here’s the thing… these goals, they are great, and yes if I achieve them they would all add to my self improvement, but what they also do is add undue pressure, and mean that come the end of the month, I feel accountable to you guys, in the same way I used to when I didn’t do my homework at school. Actually I feel worst. I could get away with doing my homework in break time but I can hardly drink a whole months worth of green juice in 15 minutes can I?

And then I had a bit of an epiphany, just because I didn’t achieve these goals this month, didn’t mean I didn’t achieve anything in March, and so for April I have only one goal… Do what you do, and take notice of it.

So April is very much a blank slate for me, of course I have some plans and intentions, but I’m not putting a time limit on them. Maybe I will sew that skirt. Maybe I will send of for my learners permit, and book my first ever driving lesson, or maybe I will just make sure I’m here, do my thang, 3 days a week. Or maybe, I will manage none of the above, but so much more.

What do you think? Am I just giving myself a get out of jail free card, or is there something in letting yourself go?

Live life & every now and then go off plan x

Follow me on Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

 

7 thoughts on “morning april…

    • I’m weirdly looking forward to the end of the month and just looking back and taking stock! Not to wish my life away too much! Hope it works for you too, we don’t always need to put a tick next to a todo list to say we have achieved something! xx

  1. I found that, sometimes, life is more rewarding when you just let things happen. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be accountable for yourself…but I think there are other ways to stay accountable than in just sticking to the to-do-list. 🙂

    • I couldn’t agree more, and I like to think that I am a fairly driven person, and what I see as my “minimum” other people marvel at. Of course that is no reason to stop, but it is a gentle reminder that ‘we are ok’ xx

  2. I definitely agree that goals can be too stressful, and they make whatever you want to do less enjoyable because of the stress. Looking back at the month and seeing what you’ve achieved is such a lovely idea, and I’m sure it’ll make you feel more content!

  3. Pingback: life simply april… | tea in your twenties

  4. Pingback: morning may… thinking consciously… | tea in your twenties

Leave a Reply

