courgetti yumamaze…

wpid-img_20150418_172845.jpg

Happy Wednesday everyone! Sorry for the radio silence on Monday, but I was feeling unusually uninspired for the beginning of the week. But how can I fail to be inspired when I look at ^that plate^ of deliciousness above?

As I have probably mentioned before, only about a gazillion times, I was never that big a meat eater. When I went veggie I will admit I missed fish, and as a vegan I still ocassionally do, but never really meat. Or not meat on it’s own should I say. What I do find myself craving every now and then is a big plate of something, warm and comforting. Something that fills your kitchen with that smell and makes your mouth water. And weirdly, even though I wouldn’t have even listed it as one of my top ten pre-vegan meals, I found myself craving a spaghetti bolognase. So I had to find something to fill that gap, something that would hopefully be a million times healthier, but still have that warm filling goodness to it, and so I came up with this, Courgetti Yumamze, so much more than just an incredible pun, and as always incredibly simple.

The best thing about this dish is that you can pretty much throw any veg into the mix on top of the basics I give you below, so if you do try this, and find any winning combination that I must try, please do let me know. Anyway enough rambling…

Ingreedients – makes roughly enough for 3 – 4 people…

1 x courgette per person
1 x tin of red kidney beans
1 x tin of butter beans
1 x onion
2 x cloves of garlic
Handful of fresh parsley and same of basil
1-2 x tins of tomatoes (use your judgement when cooking)
Lemon juice
1 x veggie stock cube
Olive oil
Salt and pepper

How I throw it all together…

1. In a frying pan, slowly heat up some olive oil, dice up your onion, and chop your mushrooms, throw in and cook for about 5 minutes (until the onion is soft and the mushrooms are slightly brown).

2.  Drain off your red kidney and butter beans and stir them into the pan, along with the garlic cloves crushed, and any other veg you want to add in, keep mixing it all around for about 2 minutes. Stir, and add in your basil and half the parsley (chopped up nice and small).

3. Turn the heat down, and add in the first tin of tomatoes and crush in your stock cube. Leave to simmer for 30 minutes, if it starts to look a bit dry you can always add in the second tin of tomatoes.

4. For the courgetti… Take your corugettes and put them through a fancy spiraliser if you have one, or just peel with a julienne peeler, or thinly slice them up if all you have is a knife, so that you are left with spaghetti like strips. You can leave this raw, or I like to dunk them into a bowl of hot water for a minute or two just to soften them up, drain them off and dress with lemon juice and a touch of olive oil. If you want your courgetti warm wait until the bolognase has been on for about 20 minutes!

5. Once your bolognase has simmered away for 30 minutes you’re good to go! And just serve it up like a normal bolognase, with a touch of salt and pepper, and the other half of the parsley for seasoning, and of course a generous helping of garlic bread, which I make by crushing some garlic into some olive oil, and then spreading onto sliced fresh bread. Whack it under the grill for a couple of minutes and voilla!

As you can see I’m not the type of cook that measures everything out, I tend to rely on tasting as I go for adding in extra flavours!  I use this as a base and tend to add in red peppers, grated carrots, broccoli, olives, or instead of basil and parsley, add in chilli and paprika.

Let me know if you try this, writing up recipes is still pretty new to me, so I love hearing from you about them and if you have any questions about being new to cooking vegan please ask!

Follow me on Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

8 thoughts on “courgetti yumamaze…

  1. YUM! this looks perfect! I am not vegetarian, but do try and limit my consumption of meat, partly as it’s healthier and partly as it’s more environmentally friendly. For my birthday this month I was given a spiraliser and I’m so keen to try it out! I don’t know why I haven’t yet! This weekend will be perfect I think! Thanks for the inspiration!
    Alice xxx

    http://www.woodenwindowsills.co.uk

    • Hi Alice! Hope you like it! I think alot of people are really aware of their meat intake these days, things like ‘Meatless Mondays’ are great! I haven’t got a proper spiralizer yet, but I think if I had one, all my vegetables would be twirly! Let me know if you like this! xx

  2. Oh I have got to try this! Byron and I are trying to eat a little less meat and have cut down loads over the past couple of weeks. This looks really delicious and also gives me another reason to get my spiraliser out. I am obsessed with courgetti!

    • I’ve found that anything really filling and stew like is the best way to avoid missing meat. When you think about it nine times out of ten, all the meat is doing is adding bulk, rather than bringing flavour anyway xx

  3. Pingback: Day 9, Spaghetti Bolognese (Without the Spaghetti or the Bolognese!) | charlottebryceson

Leave a Reply

