life simply april…

Morning everyone and a great big happy Friday! are you looking forward to the long weekend? Here’s hoping that it is as good as the last one!

So that’s it we’ve said goodbye to a beautiful sunny April, and we’re hoping that the weather will return shortly. At the beginning of April, I had decided to do away with my usual monthly goals, and instead concentrate on taking notice of what I was already achieving. So today, as well as looking at all the little things that made April lovely, I also want to look back at all the stuff I managed to do! Isn’t it funny how so often the two overlap?

Strike a pose..

Back at the beginning of April I got my pose on, modelling for Drink&Draw’s Rocky Horror night! To say I was out of my comfort zone a little, would be an understatement, and until a few days before I’d never even seen the film. And I’d never worn a corset. But I figured it was time to put my money where my mouth is, and show that actually I have got my body confidence back and yes, I can stand really still for a long time, while people watch me intently and draw every urve and bulge that makes me look like me!

I practice what I preach…

That body confidence coming back, and more importantly staying this time around, is becase after months of it being on my goals list I FINALLY got back into a regular running routine. And I recently gave in and downloaded an app, terrified at what it would tell me, but thankfully I was pleasantly surprised! I won’t go on about running too much, because I already posted about this on Friday but here’s to lighter nights and the weather being just right!

Trips to Manchester (or eating my weight in pizza)…

It’s a flipping good job I’ve got back into running, because this month I’ve spent a lot of time heading to Manchester, seeing friends, crying at comedy nights, and even a wander around the newly renovated Whitworth gallery. And of course… eating. So MUCH good food, and for any vegans out there, craving pizza, Dough do a whole range f pizzas with dairy free cheese, and in the newly opened PLY you can just ask them to swap your cheese for an extra topping (i had courgette and broccoli and it was amazing!). My waist line might not have suffered too much but my bank balance certainly has!

Having said that…

One of my achievements this month is that I’ve definitely begun to make a dint on my credit card bill! Plus after speaking to other people, I’ve realised that the couple of hundred pound I’ve been fretting about really isn’t that big of a deal. Of course, I’m still striding to pay it off, I’m just not going to loose any sleep over it!

The weather or how I am actually very British…

I know the amazing weather has disappeared now, but while it was here it was oh so good, and personally I really feel like those happy vibes have stuck around! Being able to do stuff after work has really made a huge difference not just to my mood but to my productivity too! Good bye netflix, hello…

Getting my teeth stuck into something…

One night early on this month I felt I really didn’t have a grip on just what I had going on in my life in terms of work and projects. Not that anything was out of control, but I seemed to spend a lot of time responding to stuff, rather than planning it out. One night in with my notebook, quickly helped reorganise that and since then I really feel like not only am I back at my best at work, but I have some exciting (well balanced) side projects going on too!

Having said that…

I feel a bit like I’m in a state of flux with this little space at the moment. I decided this month I would work without an editorial calendar. I can’t put my finger on exactly why I felt the need to do this, but I think it was because my blog was begginning to reflect a well organised timetable more than it was reflecting exactly what was going on in my head at the time. On one hand I would say this was definitely a success, I’ve felt much happier with some of the content I’ve posted this month, on the other hand I’ve definitely missed one or two days of posting, and I know I’ve not spent much time actively engaging in all the other bits of blogging (but I’m going to put that down to the weather!). I think what I need to do is, start planning out my calendar, weekly rather than monthly.

And that is pretty much April in a busy little nutshell. I definitely feel like I spent less time stressing about what I should be doing, and more time appreciating what I was already getting done, which has definitely made me a little more content with life! And I’m hoping this months is a sign of things to come for summer!

Aprils reading list…

Before I go I just wanted to share a couple of posts I’ve loved this month…

Sam’s post on turning 29, Sinead’s post that made me want to run to the beach, it doesn’t matter how many times I ask her to stop Sarah just keeps getting even better at photography, Toni almost inspired me to be so organised as to make a big list, and I thought that this was a really important health and fitness lesson that really resonated with me from Dani at Clean&Delisous.

Hope you’ve had a wonderfully jam packed super successful month too! What’s made your life simply lovely this month?

Live life & say hello to May with a gorgeous long weekend x

Follow me on Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

12 thoughts on “life simply april…

  1. Seems like April was a good month! Modelling sounds very exciting 🙂 I’m really craving pizza now, haha. It’s really great that more and more places offer vegan alternatives. And I totally know what you mean about the weather. Crossing my fingers that the sun and the warmth will come back soon!

    xx Mimmi, Muted Mornings

    • It was a great month thanks Mimmi! I definitely think places offering more options for any type of diet is only a good thing! One thing that always baffles me is places not serving things like dairy free or gluten free options, not because I’m a vegan, but because so many people are allergic to those things, and having those options available, really isn’t that difficult! xx

  2. Sounds like you had a really busy month! I’m glad to hear that your body confidence is increasing, the modelling sounds like fun! I know what you mean about the blogging, I feel like sometimes it’s nice to just write when something enters your head or is on your mind, it feels more natural and real 🙂 Have a lovely May! x

    Sinead – sineaddreamingagain.blogspot.ie

    • It was a pretty busy month! I’m not sure if it was necessarily busier than usual but I was just so much more aware of it! I’d definitely recommend keeping a blog post in draft where you just jot down things that you’ve managed to achieve, whether they were set goals or not! xx

  3. I am totally with you on the credit card bill. I’m finally about to get mine under the £1000 mark which is awesome. I racked up most of my debt when I moved out from a difficult relationship after 5 years and I literally had nothing so needs must. I’ll pay it off in the end! Good luck getting yours down to 0! xx

    • Exactly, most of my credit card bill has been rung up either on holidays, or unexpected bills, sometimes I just need a little extra, and I’m not going to feel guilty about it, but I just need to make sure that when I do have a bit of spare cash, it goes on paying off my ‘magic money’ card rather than in my wardrobe! xx

    • Definitely, my good eating habbits have certainly slipped by the wayside a little lately, but I’ve not noticed it on the scales or in the mirror because the running is keeping it at bay! Having said that I know I will feel even better if I put a bit more thought into what is going on my plate, so hopefully come the end of this month I will be feeling like an utter Ninja! xx

  4. Pingback: morning may… thinking consciously… | tea in your twenties

Leave a Reply

