morning monday… a year in the life…

Happy Monday everyone! How are you today? So don’t hate me but I’ve actually got today and tomorrow off, and here I am sat in the flat that Stephanie loves, having lived here for a year last Friday, thinking about how time seems to have simultaneously flown by whilst at the same time, given me a life I feel like I’ve lived forever.

I guess the biggest thing I’ve learnt, is that no one piece completes the jigsaw. I tried to tell myself that I wasn’t expecting everything else to fall into place when I moved and started my new job, but I did. I thought getting the dream job meant that everything else would soon become dreamy too. But in truth our lives and ourselves are made up of more pieces than we could imagine, and it is ok, to be ecstatically happy about some of those pieces whilst still trying to figure out where the other pieces belong.

I’ve also learnt that I have no idea how to deal with workmen, that when it comes to bills I cross my fingers and hope for the best, and that the hardest thing about renting a flat is not being able to decorate it how you want. The washing up won’t do itself, and yes, you do need to own a hoover.

I’ve discovered that too much of my own company isn’t good for me, but if I have to I can rely on myself to get across Europe.

Friends can move to the other end of the country but you’ll only grow closer. And even when you don’t feel like they are just at the end of the phone, they are, and they want you to call them.

It turns out I can function on very little sleep… just about, which is good because sometimes when you have a job you love, it can keep you up at night, and that is something people very rarely tell you about your dream job. But just because you love your job, it doesn’t mean you need to check your emails on your days off, and soon you’ll realise that work isn’t the only thing you want to have to talk about.

Being healthy makes me happier than cake, but sometimes cake is much more comforting. I’m a person of extremes but I can find a balance, it just takes a little bit more work than it does for other people.

Nobody has all the answers, you won’t find them all on a blog or a book, but they are a good place to start, some others you have to go out and find for yourself, trip over them, be smacked in the face with them or dscover them in the most unlikely of places.

A year in a life, is a long time, and time doesn’t always play fair, or in a way that makes sense, last November feels like just yesterday but January was a whole other life. You can give a year direction, but you can’t neccessairily give it a route. I am exactly where I hoped I would be this time last year. Happy in my own lttle flat, loving my job, and finally some other parts of my life are falling into place, but I had no idea of the road those 12 months would take. And while yes, I am still looking forward, and trying to control the next 6 months of my life, reaching this anniversary is reminding me to let go of some of that control, and trust that if I work hard, life will take me to where I am meant to be.

Live life & don’t let the years fly by without taking note x

 Follow me on Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

6 thoughts on “morning monday… a year in the life…

  1. Lovely post! Sounds like you’ve had a really eventful year. It’s funny how one year can feel like no time at all, and at the same time like ages. My life is so different now from what it was a year ago, yet some things are precisely the same. It’s definitely important to sometimes think back on what you’ve achieved in a year.

    xx Mimmi, Muted Mornings

Leave a Reply

