‘back of the bus’ comes to lancashire…

A4AllVenuePoster

Hey everyone! How are you? Friday here again! What have you got planned?

I have a slightly different post for you today. I know I’ve bored you all to death about how busy and tired I have been recently and I thought it was about time I shared with you just what it is I’ve been working on. While this blog started off as somewhere to write about the theatre work I make, I’ve always been reluctant to advertise a specific date or show, but what I have to share with you today is a bit more exciting than my wee 1 woman shows, and I thought you might like to know about it!

‘Back of the Bus’ is a show by New Zealand dance company Java Dance, which happens on the top deck of a double decker bus. The audience climbs aboard and are taken on a trip around town, as dance happens around them, both on the bus and on several locations along the way.

I’ve been lucky enough to work at bringing this show to Lancashire, through Plugged In, working in partnership with Super Slow Way, Spot On Libraries, and Transdev who have very kindly provided our bus for the week, and our wonderful driver! After 6 months of route planning, venue scouting, visa researching and poster designing, it has finally all come together.

From the 22nd (eeek not long!) until the 27th of June, Back of the Bus will be happening in 6 different towns across pennine Lancashire, which start with Burnley on the Monday and then move on to, Darwen, Colne, Accrington, Nelson and ending in Blackburn on the Saturday.

The show is an hour long, and I think it is SUPER important to stress, that you don’t have to be familiar with ‘contemporary dance’ in order to enjoy it. What I’m really passionate about with theatre and art in general is that it shouldn’t be put on a pedestal, made for only those with a degree in it to understand! What I also love about this show is that it doesn’t actually happen in a theatre! Theatre is, as my boss would say, a doing word not a place, and I love that this show LITERALLY, takes the show to the audience. Even passers by will get to enjoy it, as we stop off in parks, and local shops and businesses.

We’re hosting two shows a day (2pm and 7pm), with an extra one thrown in on the morning in Blackburn(11am). There are only 35 seats available on each show (as that’s how many we can fit on the bus) and tickets are selling pretty flipping quickly. If you’d like to come along and see the show, join the Facebook event, for more information and how to buy a tickets for each town. Tickets are only £6/£4.20 for concessions, which is the same price as a day rider (see what we did there?) and I promise you’ll get your moneys worth. Not only seeing a great show, but also from seeing Lancashire towns in a new light, plus you might get introduced to one or two new venues along the way.

I’d love to see you there, bring cups of tea, and biscuits, as no doubt I will be living off adrenaline and dance that week. This has been by far the biggest and scariest project I’ve ever worked on, and I have learnt so much, which will no doubt form a post of it’s own entirely, but I know that it’s going to have been worth it, when I get to spend a week on a bus, watching audiences enjoy watching some amazing artists do what they do best.

Live life & don’t be afraid to dance!

 Follow me on Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

ps. just to be clear, I won’t be doing any of the dancing myself!

2 thoughts on “‘back of the bus’ comes to lancashire…

  1. Pingback: Where the devil have you been… | tea in your twenties

  2. Pingback: morning monday… summer report card… | tea in your twenties

Leave a Reply

